Southwest Metropolitan Water and Sanitation District was organized in 1961 as a quasi-municipal government subject to Colorado statutes pertaining the special districts.  The District is currently governed by a five-member elected board of directors.

Following formation of the District, the Board of Directors employed a part-time administrator and in 1970, in response to tremendous growth and the need for full time management and operation of the District’s expanding infrastructure, the Board retained a full-time manager. Shortly thereafter, the Board considered a proposal from the adjacent Platte Canyon Water and Sanitation District to perform administrative and maintenance services for Southwest Metropolitan. Rather than duplicate the services already being performed by Platte Canyon, the Southwest Metropolitan Board chose to execute an Intergovernmental Agreement (IGA) with Platte Canyon. Since 1977 the two districts have shared personnel and equipment costs with economies of scale accruing to both entities.

California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA) Opt-Out Icon Skip to content